八十日間世界一周

『八十日間世界一周』は (SF)の開祖として知られ、SFの父とも呼ばれる ジュール・ガブリエル・ヴェルヌ  の同名小説を原作。  物語は1872年10月2日のロンドンに始まります。文字通り80日間で世界を1周できるかどうか賭けをすることを発端として始まるのですが、時代が時代だけにとにかく時間がかかります。 1956年にアメリカで公開された映画です。インターネットで椅子に座りながら即座に地球のあらゆる映像を得ることができる現代とは対照的に当時は自国以外がどのような世界か活字程度の情報しか入ってこなかったと思われます。そのせいかスペインの闘牛が10分程度ながれていたり、タップダンスシーンが5分程度ながれていたりと、物語と同時進行でご当地の紹介ともいれる描写があります。日本は横浜が舞台となっていますが、他の国の紹介と比べて比較的少なく紹介されていて、残念でした。そういったわけで、映画も途中インターバルを挟んで3時間越え、インターネットの情報に甘やかされている当方にとってご当地紹介の映像は長く感じられました。
以下感心したフレーズをデータベースに入れましたのでここでもご紹介します。

How ardently I have worked for Mr. Fogg. (八十日間世界一周)

             

I have made 63 ascents in the balloon, gentlemen, to an elevation over 1,000 meters. I've flown through the skies at a speed surpassing that of an eagle. (八十日間世界一周)

             

Tell me, sir, is this apparatus of yours for lease? (八十日間世界一周)

 

It is forbidden to approach his august personage. (八十日間世界一周)

             

My master is an aficionado of the bullfight. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A very shrewd article. (八十日間世界一周)

             

My lunch will remain the same, steward. Kindly adhere to my instructions. おすすめは結構です。(八十日間世界一周)

             

I'm determined to abstract that young woman. (八十日間世界一周)

             

The whole peninsula's up in arms against. (八十日間世界一周)

             

Yes, he's a cool article. (八十日間世界一周)

             

He amassed a considerable fortune by means I shall not attempt to describe. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Let's have a little libation on the altar of friendship. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Have you assumed command of this ship? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Eight hours and 42 minutes of the allotted time remain. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I've never had any personal animosity for you. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Aren't you the tender bud. (八十日間世界一周)

             

That bloke is balmy!

- That bloke is a Yankee, I'll bet! (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'm prepared to back my conviction by posting my check right here and now. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The boat train for Dover leaves London Bridge Station. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Are you quite sure, sir, this is not just gallic braggadocio? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Potted meats and brawn. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Wonder what she's like. A handsome creature, I'll be bound. (八十日間世界一周)

 

This business of barging about a native temple with one boots on is a very serious matter. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If that blasted warrant had only arrived. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A bulldog tenacity, Mr. Fix, that's the spirit that built an empire. (八十日間世界一周)

 

They're just boisterous children. Ignore them. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Don't tell me about men. They're all alike. I wouldn't trust the best of them. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Call a Bobby! I've been robbed. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We're gonna need some protection.

-I have this sword.

-No, nothing so medieval. A brace of pistols. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You don't want to befoul your lips with a plebeian cigar? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Aren't you the tender bud. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Bear down on that throttle. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Don't be blue, folks. Everything is gonna be all right. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Balderdash. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Mr. Fogg has bolted. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You might have won your wager but for me. (八十日間世界一周)

 

It is said that misfortune if shared with another sympathetic spirit, can be borne with resignation. (八十日間世界一周)

 

How dare you bolt into a room in this fashion, sir? (八十日間世界一周)

 

What in the everlasting blazes are you jabbering about? (八十日間世界一周)

 

The devil never sleeps, brethren. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Our poor, benighted sinner is the very sort I've been telling you about. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Save our poorly beset brother. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Must we have that confounded animal around here stamping its feet? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Move that confounded contraption! (八十日間世界一周)

 

A whimpering, cringing, slave. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Bankers must expect robbery much the same way that chickens expect hawks. (八十日間世界一周)

 

What a crime you have only 80 days. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Ask the folk with how far we are from Marseilles, and what conveyance they have for us to proceed. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He was most interested in the servant's display of capework. He would like to see more tomorrow at the bullfight. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Our constabulary managed to diminish the number of murders. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Our only problem at the moment is to find some form of conveyance from here to Allahabad. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Poor fellow went dead white. Bit clean through his pipe stem. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A very unpredictable cove. (八十日間世界一周)

 

It's very kind of you to concern yourself about me. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A local color. The sort of a show they put on for the tourists. (八十日間世界一周)

 

confusion to the enemy :   hoping for the enemy to be disorganized and unfocused. For example, you could say: We crossed the river in the night, hoping to bring confusion to the enemy.

Confusion to the enemies of the Crown. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Yes, confound it, the fellow seems to have disappeared. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Did you have an enjoyable crossing? (八十日間世界一周)

 

It's just I'd prefer what my own tobacconist compounds for me. (八十日間世界一周)

 

No, I ain't chancing it, fellows. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Contain yourself. (八十日間世界一周)

 

After reasoned discourse, the venture is launched. (八十日間世界一周)

 

This is the first photographic dissolve. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The club's going to the dogs. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I refuse to be daunted at this stage of the game. (八十日間世界一周)

 

English ingenuity, never say die. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The whole thing is highly irregular, dash it all! (八十日間世界一周)

 

Devil take the man. Where could he be? (八十日間世界一周)

 

They slay without discrimination. Any age, sex, color. (八十日間世界一周)

 

£1,000 for an elephant? It's outrageous! You've been diddled. (八十日間世界一周)

 

What the deuce are you doing? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Very. She was educated in England.

That decides it. それで決まりだな。彼女を救いに行こう。(八十日間世界一周)

 

We create a distractionary action here, start a sortie here. (八十日間世界一周)

 

It just dawned upon me I completely forgot to offer my condolences upon your bereavement. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Don't dilly-dally. (八十日間世界一周)

 

It takes a gallant, adventurous bloke to dash around the world like that. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You donkey? Come on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

dad-blamed [](())damned

I'll be a dad-blamed polecat(八十日間世界一周)

 

Haven't seen you in donkey's years. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I have just received some rather disquieting information about Mr. Fogg. (八十日間世界一周)

 

In the meantime, allow me to disillusion you. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Never doubt for one instant, the efficacy of prayer. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Only a cool and logical individual could have engineered such an exploit. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Very enterprising of you. (八十日間世界一周)

 

That's the most enthralling story I've ever heard. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a dad-blamed polecat if you aren't about as ornery specimen as ever I cut my eyes on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Poker, red dog, euchre. (八十日間世界一周)

 

No British gentleman would have the effrontery to set foot in this club. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Fiction lags behind the fact. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If you want to make foolhardy bets that you can't possibly win, I'm afraid I shall be forced to take you on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Now reassemble your faculties and start packing. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Thank you, master.

- There will be no further fiddle-faddle. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I finessed my queen of hearts and forced him to sacrifice his ace. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I've always admired men who are precise, who have a sense of order and discipline.

- Fancy that. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You can pledge your last farthing on that. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Tell the engineer I want full steam. Full steam. As much as she'll take. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Anything that has overtaken me is a direct result of my own folly. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A man can girdle the globe now in three months. Less than that, to be precise. In 80 days. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You're pretty glib. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You will discover Indian maidens galore. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Are you quite sure, sir, this is not just gallic braggadocio? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Giddy-up! (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a ring-tailed sidewinder if you don't raise my gorge. (To make somebody's gorge raise = Make one sick) (八十日間世界一周)

 

Cost my poor old governor well over £12,000. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Aye, we better get over to Mr. Lloyd's. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I suppose he'll be hectoring me soon for someone to fill your place. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We shall lay the culprit by the heels soon enough. We've notified detectives all over the world from Liverpool to Cairo. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Just take two shirts and three pairs of hose for each of us. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Strange we should stop hereabouts. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Is Mr. Fogg always so proper, haughty and formal? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Look at this heathen young woman, for instance, this Mrs. Aouda. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You won't be lingering in this sort of a hubbub much longer I guess so. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Maybe a hoochie-coochie dancer? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Why, hang me for a sheep-stealing son of tarantula. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'm afraid he's fallen into the hands of the Sioux. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Ease off the halyards. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The ship is on the high seas at this moment. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The man's a tyrant. A cold-hearted, implacable fiend. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You are allowing your native imperturbability to be swept away by a spate of mounting hysteria. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Incidentally. Have you found out anything definite about him? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Guess what's become of the intrepid Mr. Fogg? (八十日間世界一周)

 

What is that drink?

- It's indescribable. Liquid music. It warms the heart, fires the imagination, broadens the horizon. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Sir, you are an insolent bully, and I demand satisfaction at once. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I wish to issue my first command. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We will review your impudence at a later date. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He is hurrying some poor soul to his doom tempting him down the path of iniquity. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Perhaps he has some secret sorrow, some love who jilted him. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Got you puzzled, has he?

- Yes, by jingo, he has. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The man is a jack-of-all-trades. (八十日間世界一周)

 

What in the everlasting blazes are you jabbering about? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Here's a pretty kettle of fish. A man trying to run a business, and the door's locked. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Do you wish at once a kinswoman and a friend?

-I'm not sure that I interpret you correctly.

-Will you have me for your wife? (八十日間世界一周)

 

There was a time not so long ago when learned men thought the earth was flat. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Let's have some lurid details. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He hands it over without batting a lash.

Thought you'd run away, yellow-bellied lime juicer. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll lag the blighter there. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Let's have a little libation on the altar of friendship. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Linseed oil. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Pile everything that will burn into the stoke hole. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The cargo first, of course, that linseed oil. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Land ho! (八十日間世界一周)

 

Have you taken leave of your senses? (八十日間世界一周)

 

He's a cold and methodical as those two watches he carries about with him. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The mosques, the minarets, the elephants, the snakes. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I believe you know my manservant, do you not? (八十日間世界一周)

 

I was a victim of mal de mer, I'm sorry to say. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If you ain't a pack of yellow-bellied milksops. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You see, I was a wife in name only. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll nail him this time. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Other than the oxcart, nothing can get through that jungle. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Two orchestra stalls, please. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a dad-blamed polecat if you aren't about as ornery specimen as ever I cut my eyes on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Thought you could outwit me, didn't you? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Pilfering a sum like that from under his very nose. Surely you have some better hiding place

for your funds than the cashier's nose?

-Your persiflage does not amuse. This has been totally unexpected blow to us. (八十日間世界一周)

 

My affiliation with the Bank of England naturally precludes my betting. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The moment is propitious for our descent in the balloon. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Where would we procure such a boat? (八十日間世界一周)

 

It is forbidden to approach his august personage. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I made provision for precisely that sort of eventuality. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The lady you've just seen is to be burned on funeral pyre of her husband's. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I got him and his servant's bail set at £1,000 a piece. (八十日間世界一周)

 

No steam packet, tug, or lighter? There must be something in a port this size. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You don't want to befoul your lips with a plebeian cigar? (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a dad-blamed polecat if you aren't about as ornery specimen as ever I cut my eyes on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Let us dispense with the poetry, Captain. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Arrest? On what charge?

Of purloining £55,000 from the Bank of England on the 3rd of July. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Don't give in to the Prince of Darkness. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He was quizzing me about steamships out of Hong Kong. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You are now looking at the receding shape of this planet, Earth. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Some Yankee. Those redskins over there drink anything. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Kindly remember that you have been rigorously trained as a gentleman's gentleman. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I think this calls for a restrained celebration. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Goddesses. Ravishing. (八十日間世界一周)

 

A remarkable achievement, Captain, and one that deserves adequate recognition. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Her husband was a rajah and very influential. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I met the late rajah exactly once. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Here, follow that rickshaw, chop-chop! (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a ring-tailed sidewinder if you don't raise my gorge. (To make somebody's gorge raise = Make one sick) (八十日間世界一周)

 

My mind rejects the whole idea. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Jules Verne wrote many books. He was able to transfer his soaring imagination to print. (八十日間世界一周)

 

That bloke is balmy!

- That bloke is a Yankee, I'll bet! There's a sight! (八十日間世界一周)

 

You've led a rather speckled career. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Smote fill large denominations. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Imagine sauntering up to the head cashier's table and pilfering a sum like that from under his very nose. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You will encounter the geisha girls, and those, monsieur, are not to be sneezed at. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We stand to lose £20,000. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Hot soup, fried sole. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Suet pudding and treacle. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Great stroke of luck we happen to be on the same ship, wasn't it. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Those infamous stranglers. What did you say the named that sect was?

- Thuggee. (八十日間世界一周)

 

My friend here stands to lose a considerable sum of money. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Rather sticky if they spot us. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If they hear our voices, we will be slain. (八十日間世界一周)

 

The lady does not wish to commit Suttee.  She is being forced. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We create a distractionary action here, start a sortie here. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Just when you think you've cornered him, he gives you the slip. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Well, strike me, it's my old friend of the Rangoon. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'm in pursuit of a very cunning, very slippery criminal. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I say bravo to a man who sticks to his principles. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Very sporting of you to let me share your craft, Mr. Fogg. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Oh, don't be so soppy. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be a ring-tailed sidewinder if you don't raise my gorge. (To make somebody's gorge raise = Make one sick) (八十日間世界一周)

 

Sir, you are an insolent bully, and I demand satisfaction at once. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Why are we slowing down?

-Well, that's it. They just put the last teaspoon of coal in the old scow. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Pile everything that will burn into the stoke hole. (八十日間世界一周)

 

That could spell the end of the British Empire. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'm a patient man, Hinshaw, but don't trespass on my good feelings. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He isn't in trade. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Any tomfoolery and out you go. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If you want to make foolhardy bets that you can't possibly win, I'm afraid I shall be forced to take you on. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Now, gentlemen, clubs, I believe, are still trumps. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Here's the description of the robber I received from London. Yes. It tallies exactly. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Curry's the only dish for a chap in this filthy climate. Purifies the blood, tones up the system by luncheon. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Always thought old Fogg had a twinkle in his eye. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Are you taking the transcontinental train? (八十日間世界一周)

 

Spades are trumps, I believe. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You may be a foreigner, but you're true-blue. (八十日間世界一周)

 

What, this deck is made of Burmese teak. (八十日間世界一周)

 

You have successfully thwarted me. (八十日間世界一周)

 

We cannot fly across the mountains. That, monsieur, is not unfeasible, fantastic as it seems. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Our position here is untenable. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Unhand that lady, sir. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I'll be rattlesnake's uncle. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Ready, or you want to holler uncle? 参ったという(八十日間世界一周)

 

My timetable never varies. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Next thing you know, all the members will be talking to each other!

-Yes, it's the thin end of the wedge. (八十日間世界一周)

 

I don't care if he's a member of the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He doesn't go in for hunting, or fishing, or wenching. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Where is this wretched murder to take place? (八十日間世界一周)

 

I had no idea you were so keen about whist. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He has only one love, madame. Cards. Whist. (八十日間世界一周)

 

He thinks of nothing but the whist, morning, noon, and night. (八十日間世界一周)

 

Since you are temporarily alone in the world, the least I can do is look after your welfare. (八十日間世界一周)

 

It's an ill wind that blows no good. (八十日間世界一周)

 

One has nobody with whom to share his grief. (八十日間世界一周)

 

If you ain't a pack of yellow-bellied milksops. (八十日間世界一周)

 

 

Thought you'd run away, yellow-bellied lime juicer. (lime juicer 英国人) (80日間世界一周)